​With the 2017 Overwatch World Cup group stage kicking off July 14 in China, hype is building for the impending tournament. Blizzard released a video detailing how the announcing and voting phase went down, how the group stage will operate this summer, and finally, the number of teams that will be competing in the playoffs in November.

Out of 32 teams, only the top 16 teams will compete in the single-elimination playoffs. Of those, only the top eight will face off at BlizzCon. There, the first team to win three matches will be crowned the 2017 Overwatch World Cup champions.


The upcoming tournament in China will consist of Group A and Group B, whose participants were seeded via snake draft.

The following weekend, Group C and Group D will face off in Australia. After that, Group E and F in Poland. Finally, Group G and Group H will compete in the United States. The group stage will end August 13, after which the battle for the 2017 Overwatch World Cup will resume in November.

South Korea dominated the competition and won the 2016 World Cup without losing a single match. Will they remain champions, or will another country take their spot?

Photo courtesy of Blizzard Entertainment