The Intel Extreme Masters World Championship Katowice 2018 has had its tournament format revealed with a total of 16 teams competing in the event, the first time in their history that 16 teams will compete. 

This has brought up the number of teams from 12 to 16 and with that brings changes to the event's format after 12 years of utilizing the same number of teams. The news was announced through the Intel Extreme Masters official Twitter account. 

The format for the event will still see two groups, but instead of six teams per group, there will be eight teams in each group. However, the playoff portion of the event will remain unchanged with the group winners being seeded straight into the semifinals. 

The 2nd placed teams of the groups will play against the third-placed teams in the first round of the playoffs. The groups will be seeded accordingly to the ESL CS:GO World Rankings with the group being played in a double elimination format. 

The group stage will run for three days, between Feb. 27 and March 1, using two streams to broadcast simultaneously. Three teams from each group qualify for playoffs, the winner goes to the semifinals and the 2nd and 3rd placed teams depend on who wins the upper bracket or lower bracket of the group. 

The playoffs up until the grand final will be played between March 2 and March 4. The grand final will be a best-of-five while all other playoff matches will be a best-of-three. The event will run in its entirety from Feb 27 to March 4 with $500,000 on the line. 

Cover photo courtesy of Intel Extreme Masters.