The 8th competitive season in Overwatch is finally live!

Just in time for the New Year. 

​​This season features a few changes from the last, including skill rating adjustments that reduce the difference between the highest and the lowest skill rated player on the same team. Rage changes include the following.

  • 1000 SR for Bronze through Diamond
  • 500 SR for Master
  • 250 SR for Grandmaster

The development team hopes that these changes will help players at high and low levels of Skill Rating get placed with teammates and opponents of a similar level.

Personal performance adjustments have also been made for Diamond and above tiered players. The Skill Rating gained or lost in these tiers was calculated partly by how well you performed during a match, but that's been changed and now the Devs hope that players will focus more on winning matches rather than personal performance.


As usual, Competitive Play is unlocked at level 25, and you must complete 10 placement matches to find out your initial skill rating. Your rating will be a number between 1 and 5000 (the higher the more skilled you are) and you will be assigned a tier based on your rating (Bronze, Silver, Gold, Platinum, Diamond, Master and Grandmaster). Your rating will go up or down depending on each competitive win or loss, your performance, and the skill of the other players you play with.

Season 8 is live now and available on all platforms (PC, PlayStation 4, and Xbox One).

Photos courtesy of Blizzard Entertainment