​On Jan. 8 ESL announced all of the Dota 2 teams that would be participating in the closed qualifier for ESL One Katowice 2018. 

Out of the six regions, there will be two rounds of qualifiers. The first round will have eight teams in attendance, and the second round will have four invited teams.

​​The full list can be found on ​their website and features 72 teams that will compete for six spots at the major. The eight first round invites will compete in the round of twelve, then the winners will go on to face the round two invites in the quarterfinals. 

The qualifiers will be single elimination, and every set besides the grand finals will be best-of-three. The grand final will be a best-of-five.

The qualifiers will run from Jan. 9 until Jan. 12 and will determine the six teams to round out the ESL One Katowice 2018 roster. The closed qualifier teams will be joining ​Virtus.pro​Team Secret, Team Liquid, Newbee, ​Evil Geniuses​Mineski, Vici Gaming, and Na'Vi in Poland.

With the eight invited teams and the six qualifier teams, there are still tow slots open for the event. ESL has said that they are still deciding the procedure for doling out those spots and will announce things to the general public soon.

The tournament is set to kick off on Feb. 20 and will feature 16 teams battling it out for the lion's share of 1,500 Pro Circuit points, and $1,000,000. 

Best of luck to the invited teams in qualifying for the major!

Photo by ​ESL