​Royal Never Give Up emerged victorious over Invictus Gaming to win the LPL summer split Friday.

At the LPL Summer finals, RNG and Invictus Gaming faced off to decide which League of Legends team would be the summer split champion. RNG, who won the spring split earlier in the year, took its second split title when it defeat Invictus Gaming 3-2 Friday. 

The series began heavily in RNG's favor before Invictus Gaming retaliated in game three and game four. It went to a fifth game to decide the winner, which RNG eventually became the winner of. 

Riot Games and other League of Legends teams are preparing for the ​World Championship in October. Both RNG and Invictus Gaming are locked in as the first and second seed respectively for the tournament. LPL's third seed for worlds will be decided through the LPL regional finals, which begin Saturday. 

Cover photo courtesy of Riot Games