Riot Games announced the rebranding of the EU LCS as the League of Legends European Championship on Tuesday ahead of the competition's next season. With the new brand comes a new franchised model of participation. 

Here are the 10 ​League of Legends franchises that will make up the LEC following ​its rebranding and restructuring:

- Fnatic

- Schalke 04

- G2 Esports

- Misfits Gaming

- Origen

- Excel Esports

- Rogue

- SK Gaming

- Splyce

- Team Vitality

The list contains a mix of established EU LCS talent, such as Fnatic, Schalke 04 and G2 Esports, and some new additions from across esports, such as SK Gaming and Origen.

G2 Esports, Fnatic, Misfits, Schalke 04 and Team Vitality were the first five teams to be ​reported​ as having secured franchise spots in the LEC, followed shortly by ​AstralisMovistar Riders, North, Rogue and SK Gaming were ​reported Nov. 4 as filling out the remaining spots, but last minute changes saw ​Splyce and exceL replace Movistar Riders and North, while Astralis ownership ​RFRSH acquired Origen on Monday to field in Astralis' stead.

The next season of European League of Legends competition is set to begin in January.

Photo courtesy of Riot Games