All Pokémon Games in Order: The Ultimate 'Core' List

All Pokémon games in order can be daunting for anyone new to the series, but for most of us, we've been playing since the very first one.

There is a lot of disagreements on which series or generation is the best, but that's for a different time. This is simply every Pokémon game in order. 

All Pokémon Games in Order: The Ultimate List

There are a few stipulations to this list. This will simply be the "core games" and will not include games like Pokémon Stadium or Pokémon Snap

  1. Pokémon Red and Green Japan 1996
  2. Pokémon Red and Blue North America 1998
  3. Pokémon Yellow 1999
  4. Pokémon Gold and Silver 2000
  5. Pokémon Crystal 2001
  6. Pokémon Ruby and Sapphire 2003
  7. Pokémon FireRed and LeafGreen 2004
  8. Pokémon Emerald 2005
  9. Pokémon Diamond and Pearl 2007
  10. Pokémon Platinum 2009
  11. Pokémon HeartGold and SoulSilver 2010
  12. Pokémon Black and White 2011
  13. Pokémon Black 2 and White 2012
  14. Pokémon X and Y 2013
  15. Pokémon Omega Ruby and Alpha Sapphire 2014
  16. Pokémon Sun and Moon 2016

Now, there are dozens of other Pokémon titles throughout the years, but these are the main core games and it will now include  Pokémon Sword and Shield which is set to come out late 2019

According to information released by Nintendo before Wednesday's Direct, Pokémon Sword and Shield are scheduled to arrive on the Nintendo Switch sometime in late 2019. That release window lines up with the usual release times for previous entries in the franchise.

Photo courtesy of Game Freaks