EA Sports Announce Partnership With Lega Serie A for FIFA 22

Image courtesy of EA Sports

EA Sports have announced a new partnership with Lega Serie A ahead of the upcoming release of FIFA 22.

The partnership gives EA an exclusive licence to 14 teams to bring "more of the unique characteristics of Italian football and each of its storied clubs to the game." FIFA is no stranger to exclusive licences, and this latest one with Lega Serie A reaffirms EA Sports' commitment to global football. EA Sports has also been named Title Sponsor and Partner of Supercoppa Italiana, soon to be renamed EA Sports Supercupat the beginning of the 2022-23 season.

There will be 16 Serie A clubs that will be "authentically intergrated" into FIFA 22:

  • Bologna F.C. 1909
  • Cagliari Calcio
  • Empoli F.C.
  • ACF Fiorentina
  • Genoa C.F.C.
  • Hellas Verona F.C.
  • FC Internazionale Milano
  • A.C. Milan
  • S.S.C. Napoli
  • U.S. Salernitana 1919
  • U.C. Sampdoria
  • U.S. Sassuolo Calcio
  • Spezia Calcio
  • Torino F.C.
  • Udinese Calcio
  • Venezia F.C..

EA Sports has said that these clubs will have authentic team names, crests, kits, and squads throughout FIFA 22. Piemonte Calcio, Bergamo Calcio, Latium, and Roma FC will be included in Serie A but will not be authentically intergrated, according to EA. The reasoning behind this is that the agreement between EA Sports and Lega Serie A allows clubs to be authentically represented in-game, providing that the rights of those clubs are available and not currently contractually held exclusively by another party. Despite this, the names and likenesses of authentic players from all 20 Serie A clubs will still playable throughout FIFA 22.

With the addition of Serie A, FIFA now boasts over 7,000 players across more than 700 teams in 100 stadiums and over 30 leagues.

FIFA 22 releases on Oct. 1 on PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5, Xbox One X, Xbox Series X|S, and PC.