Sources: ESL Pro League Member Teams Locked in for At Least 3 Years; WESA to Cease Involvement With EPL

Mousesports is among the 13 teams to sign a three-year agreement with ESL Pro League
Mousesports is among the 13 teams to sign a three-year agreement with ESL Pro League / Photo by Bart Oerbekke/ESL

ESL has signed three-year agreements with the 13 member teams that will comprise ESL Pro League, with the possibility of extending to as long as six years, according to multiple sources. Those teams have also acquired and will collectively own the ESL Pro League, leaving ESL as the just the operator. With the move, the World Esports Association (WESA) will no longer be involved in ESL Pro League.

ESL announced Tuesday the 24 teams that will participate in ESL Pro League Season, including the 13 “member” teams and 11 others based on the Season 10 results, Mountain Dew League, and ESL world rankings. Just after that announcement, a separate one was made with regards to the 13 member teams that they have dubbed the “Louvre Agreement” and published on their website. Those teams include Astralis, Complexity, ENCE, Evil Geniuses, FaZe Clan, Fnatic, G2 Esports, Mousesports, Natus Vincere, Ninjas in Pyjamas, Team Liquid, Team Vitality and 100 Thieves.

For the agreement to span the maximum duration of six years, ESL must hit specific key performance indicators by the end of the second year, according to sources (the details of which are still unknown). Should that not happen, year three would be the final year of the Louvre Agreement.

WESA was still a component of the agreement between member teams and ESL Pro League leading into the Paris summit last month. As a result of the meeting, WESA will now step aside and relinquish its involvement in the league. That move along with teams acquiring the entity of ESL Pro League are both new and rapid developments since the late January meeting in Paris.

DBLTAP has reached out to ESL for comment.