Overwatch

Everything You Need to Know About the Overwatch 2 PvP Beta

Blizzard has released an FAQ-style post with all the information players need to know before getting involved with the Overwatch 2 PvP Beta tomorrow.
Blizzard has released an FAQ-style post with all the information players need to know before getting involved with the Overwatch 2 PvP Beta tomorrow. / Blizzard Entertainment

Blizzard has released an FAQ-style post with all the information players need to know before getting involved with the Overwatch 2 PvP Beta tomorrow.

It's finally time! The Overwatch 2 (OW2) PvP Beta officially kicks off tomorrow, April 26, at 11 a.m. PT (2 p.m. ET). Those chosen for the beta have likely already received their invitations via e-mail from the Overwatch team with instructions on how to prepare for the big day. This will be only one of several tests the team plans to hold throughout the year with participants possibly being added later on.

Key Details of the Overwatch 2 PvP Beta

Below, we've gathered a few highlights from Blizzard's explanation on what to expect before and during the test:

  • Players will need to already have access to and pre-installed Overwatch 1 to gain entry into the OW2 PvP Beta.
  • This beta test is for Windows PCs only — but the next betas may feature expanded platforms.
  • At the time of writing, this beta is only available in North America, Europe, Latin America/Brazil, Korea, Japan, Australia/New Zealand, Taiwan, and Southeast Asia.
  • This version of OW2 PvP Beta is primarily written in English with limited support for localizations across the above regions.
  • No progress made in the beta will be carried over into the live game.
  • Not all features available in OW 1 will be available in this beta playtest.

Overwatch 2 PvP Beta and Streaming

Yes, those who have been selected can stream their experience in the beta. In fact, Blizzard seems to be encouraging it, as those who tune into streams will have the opportunity to earn their very own key into the beta during a limited-time campaign.

The campaign begins on April 27 at 10 a.m. PT (1 p.m. ET) and ends at 6 p.m. PT (9 p.m. ET). Those who tune in to any of the streamers on the eligible list may be selected to receive a Twitch drop containing their very own key.

The Overwatch team, itself, is holding a "Beta Bash" stream that same day with a start time of just an hour later — 11 a.m. PT (2 p.m. ET). The stream will broadcast via the verified PlayOverwatch account.


OW2 PvP Beta will end on May 17. DBLTAP cannot confirm the date and/or time of any other planned tests at the time of writing.