FIFA 21 Team of the Year: Full List of Defender Nominees

Photo by EA Sports

The FIFA 21 Team of the Year nominees list was released Jan. 7 giving fans the chance to chime in with their picks for the best players of the year.

As is the norm for Team of the Year, the formation is set up as 4-3-3. Players choose four defenders, midfielders, three attackers and one goalkeeper to make up the most prestigious promotional team in FIFA Ultimate team. The voting system features numerous nominees across teams from multiple leagues.

FIFA 21 Team of the Year: Full List of Defender Nominees

Here's the full list of defenders up for nomination in the FIFA 21 Team of the Year squad:

  • Francesco Acerbi - CB / Lazio
  • Trent Alexander-Arnold - RB / Liverpool
  • Jordan Amavi - LB / Marseille
  • Angelino - LB / RB Leipzig
  • Alphonso Davies - LB / Bayern Munchen
  • Stefan De Vrij - CB / Inter Milan
  • Matthias Ginter - CB / Borussia Monchengladbach
  • Theo Hernandez - LB / AC Milan
  • Mats Hummels - CB / Borussia Dortmund
  • Jesus Navas - RB / Sevilla
  • Jordi Alba - LB / Barcelona
  • Presnal Kimpembe - CB / Paris Saint-Germain
  • Aymeric Laporte - CB / Manchester City
  • Marquinhos - CB / Paris Saint-Germain
  • Andrew Robertson - LB / Liverpool
  • Sergio Ramos - CB / Real Madrid
  • Thiago Silva - CB / Chelsea
  • Virgil Van Dijk - CB / Liverpool

The early favorites to win the spots are Davies, Van Dijk, Ramos and Alexander-Arnold. Davies won numerous trophies with Germany's top side including the Bundesliga and Champions League. Van Dijk and Ramos are arguably the two best central defenders in the world. TAA was a vital part of Liverpool's Premier League title-winning campaign.

Click here to vote for FIFA 21 TOTY.