Top Games

How to Watch the Gamescom 2021 Opening Night Live Stream

We've broken down how to watch the Gamescom 2021 Opening Night Live stream later today, Wednesday, Aug. 25.
We've broken down how to watch the Gamescom 2021 Opening Night Live stream later today, Wednesday, Aug. 25. / Gamescom

We've broken down how to watch the Gamescom 2021 Opening Night Live stream later today, Wednesday, Aug. 25.

Yesterday, Gamescom featured new projects and updates from Microsoft's Xbox division and Bungie's Destiny 2. Xbox fans were greeted with a wide array of new content from upcoming DLC installations to entirely new indie games headed to the platform's Game Pass subscription service—as well as a colorful controller for its flagship racing title, Forza Horizon 5. Destiny 2 players had the opportunity to meet the Witch Queen, a new major antagonist coming early in 2022.

How to Watch the Gamescom 2021 Opening Night Live Stream

Gamescom fans can watch the official stream of Opening Night Live later today, Wednesday, Aug. 25. According to a tweet by industry host and commentator Geoff Keighley, the show starts at 1:30 p.m. ET (10:30 a.m. PT / 6:30 p.m. BST / 7:30 p.m. CEST) and will be broadcast on the official The Game Awards (thegameawards) YouTube channel—of which the link is already live.

Some other sources state it actually starts at 2 p.m. ET (11 a.m. PT / 7 p.m. BST / 8 p.m. CEST). However, it should be noted that Gamescom's Twitter account did retweet Keighley with the times, suggesting his times are correct. The live stream link also states a kickoff time of 1:30 p.m. ET.

Viewers are in for a real treat should they choose to tune in with several studios already revealed as part of the show. Names like Mediatonic, Bandai Namco, Activision, Ubisoft, Splitgate's 1047 Games, SEGA, Bloodhunt's Sharkmob, Valheim's Iron Gate Studios, and more, have been confirmed. Titles include Call of Duty: Vanguard, LEGO Star Wars: Skywalker Saga, Death Stranding, Far Cry 6, and even a new Saints Row.