League of Legends

League of Legends World Championship 2021 Groups Revealed

Worlds 2021 approaches.
Worlds 2021 approaches. / Photo by Zhang Lintao/Riot Games

Riot Games revealed the groups for the League of Legends World Championships on Wednesday, tweeting them out and setting the stage for the biggest event in the League of Legends calendar.

The groups are as follows:

Group A

  • FunPlus Phoenix
  • Rogue
  • TBD

Group B

  • 100 Thieves
  • EDward Gaming
  • T1
  • TBD

Group C

  • Fnatic
  • PSG Talon
  • Royal Never Give Up
  • TBD

Group D

  • Gen.G
  • MAD Lions
  • Team Liquid
  • TBD

During the Group Stage, each group will play a double round robin of best-of-one series. The top two teams from each group advance to the final knockout bracket that ultimately determines the worlds winner.

The fourth team in each group will be determined during the play-in stage at worlds. The teams competing in the play-ins are split into two groups. The top teams from each group, after a series of best-of-one round robin matches, will advance directly to the Groups Stage. The 2nd through 4th place teams will play a knockout bracket, the two winners of which advance to Groups.

Worlds begins Oct. 5 with the play-in stage. The Main Event, which opens with Groups, begins Oct. 1