League of Legends World Championship Groups Revealed

Riot Games revealed the groups for Worlds 2020 on Tuesday.
Riot Games revealed the groups for Worlds 2020 on Tuesday. / Photo by Riot Games

Riot Games unveiled the teams competing in each group at the League of Legends World Championship, plus the play-in groups, Tuesday morning.

The play-in stage features 10 League of Legends teams split into two groups of five. Groups will play a single round-robin, and the teams with the best records will advance to the group stage. The third and fourth place teams in each play-in group will then play a best-of-five series, and the winner will play a second series against the team with the second best record from the group. The team that comes out on top after all that will go on to the group stage, and the losers will be eliminated.

The teams in the play-in stage groups are as follows:

Play-In Group A

  • Team Liquid (LCS)
  • MAD Lions (LEC)
  • Legacy Esports (OPL)
  • Papara SuperMassive (TCL)
  • INTZ Esports (CBLOL)

Play-In Group B

  • LGD Gaming (LPL)
  • PSG Talon (PCS)
  • V3 Esports (LJL)
  • Unicorns of Love (LCL)
  • Rainbow7 (LLA)

Four teams will make it out of play-ins in total, feeding into the group stage. Twelve teams have already qualified for groups, divided into four groups of three teams. Each group has one open slot for a play-in survivor. The two teams with the best records in each group will advance to the knockout stage of the tournament.

The teams already qualified for the group stage are as follows:

Group A

  • G2 Esports (LEC)
  • Suning (LPL)
  • Machi Esports (PCS)

Group B

  • Damwon Gaming (LCK)
  • JD Gaming (LPL)
  • Rogue (LEC)

Group C

  • Team SoloMid (LCS)
  • Fnatic (LEC)
  • Gen.G (LCK)

Group D

  • Top Esports (LPL)
  • DragonX (LCK)
  • FlyQuest (LCS)

Play-ins begin Sept. 25, and the group stage begins Oct. 3.