Call of Duty

Modern Warfare 2 Multiplayer Release Times: When Can You Start Playing

Activision

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 multiplayer is just on the horizon and we've got the rundown on its release times for those eagerly awaiting its arrival.

While Call of Duty does offer solid single-player campaigns, most fans would agree that the multiplayer component of the franchise is the real star of the show. Fans can look forward to a wide selection of game modes when booting up Modern Warfare 2s multiplayer component. These modes will be divided into two categories: Core Maps and Battle Maps.

Core Map modes will primarily feature 6v6 matches that include classic modes such as Free-for-All, Team Deathmatch, and Domination. If players are looking for more grand-scale matches then they can turn their attention to the Battle Map modes. This category can go as far as 32v32 matches and features game modes such as Ground War and Ground War Invasion.

Modern Warfare 2 Multiplayer Release Times: When Can You Start Playing

Modern Warfare 2 will release on Oct. 28 meaning that its multiplayer will be available for console users when the clock strikes midnight in their local area. U.S. fans on the West Coast are the outlier as they can download the game once the East Coast hits midnight. That would be at 9 p.m. PT.

Something to take note of, Infinity Ward did release a statement warning console users to avoid changing their region settings in order to play the game faster. Players who do so will encounter connectivity issues and could be blocked from the game until your local area's launch time.

PC gamers have a different rollout as the game will release at the same time globally. For players in the U.S., the release time will be 12:00 a.m. E.T or 9 p.m. P.T. Other region times include 5 a.m. BST in the UK, 6 a.m. CEST in Europe, and 11 p.m. CDT in Mexico City.