MW3 Ranks in Order: Ranked Play System Explained

Here's the MW3 Ranked System explained.
Here's the MW3 Ranked System explained. / Activision

The MW3 Ranked system consists of eight Skill Divisions, free rewards, and even flaming ranks in the most competitive multiplayer playlist in Call of Duty.

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 Season 1 Reloaded is on it way with plenty of new features, including the launch of Ranked Play. In just one week, fans will finally be able to compete under the Call of Duty League ruleset to see how they compare to the best players in the world. As they work toward the highest rank possible, they can also earn exclusive prizes and even make it onto a leaderboard for the entire world to see.

Here's a breakdown of the MW3 Ranked Play system.

MW3 Ranks in Order

Here's all the MW3 ranks in order:

  • Bronze (Lowest)
  • Silver
  • Gold
  • Platinum
  • Diamond
  • Crimson
  • Iridescent
  • Top 250 (Highest)

The ranks will look familiar to those who grinded Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 Ranked Play. All players will once again start at Rank 1 in Bronze I. If you successfully progress through all eight Skill Divisions, you will make it to the Global Top 250 Leaderboard.

To access MW3 Ranked Play, you must reach Level 55. At any point if you wind up winning three matches in a row, your rank will catch fire.

How Promotion/Demotion Works in MW3 Ranked Play

Promotion in MW3 Ranked Play is quite simple: when you win matches, you are rewarded with SR (Skill Rating). The amount of SR you receive is determined by your individual and team performance in each match. The more SR you earn, the quicker you will progress through the Skill Divisions. Plus, you will earn rewards along the way, including Weapon Blueprints, camos, and cosmetics.

In contrast, you risk being demoted if you lose too much SR. Losing matches and poor indivual performances will result in negative SR that might push you below the SR threshold of your current Skill Division. For example, a significant loss could kick a recently promoted Silver player back down to Bronze.

Beware of other ways you can lose SR, like engaging in excessive friendly fire, disconnecting from matches, and being inactive for too long.

MW3 Ranked Play Maps and Modes

MW3 Ranked Play features the following maps and modes:


  • Invasion
  • Karachi
  • Skidrow
  • Sub Base
  • Terminal

Search & Destroy

  • Highrise
  • Invasion
  • Karachi
  • Skidrow
  • Terminal


  • Highrise
  • Invasion
  • Karachi

MW3 Ranked Play Release Date

Activision confirmed that MW3 Ranked Play will be released on Jan. 17. at 12 p.m. ET as part of MW3 Season 1 Reloaded. The update will also include new multiplayer map, Rio, as well as two new weapons.