Overwatch World Cup 2023 Groups


After a three-year hiatus, the much-anticipated Overwatch World Cup is finally happening in 2023, a competition that will virtually rival the Olympics. Blizzard has already announced the timeline, stages and teams that are competing in the event, but the way it breaks down is slightly more complicated.

Overwatch World Cup 2023 Groups

36 teams are competing to qualify for the 15 remaining spots in the Overwatch World Cup Group stage. The Chinese team automatically qualified. However, the 36 other teams aren't all competing against one another, as this might result in countries from one region being completely excluded. To remedy this, Blizzard separated the teams into three geographic conferences, which are themselves broken down into A and B Groups. Here's how it works.

Americas Conference A (AMER A)

  1. Canada
  2. Costa Rica
  3. Guatemala
  4. Mexico
  5. Puerto Rico
  6. United States

Americas Conference B (AMER B)

  1. Argentina
  2. Brazil
  3. Chile
  4. Columbia
  5. Ecuador
  6. Peru

Europe and Middle East Conference A (EMEC A)

  1. Belgium
  2. France
  3. Great Britain
  4. Italy
  5. The Netherlands
  6. Spain

Europe and Middle East Conference B (EMEC B)

  1. Germany
  2. Norway
  3. Poland
  4. Saudi Arabia
  5. Sweden
  6. Turkey

Asian-Pacific Conference A (APAC A)

  1. Chinese Taipei
  2. Hong Kong
  3. Indonesia
  4. Japan
  5. The Philippines
  6. South Korea

Asian-Pacific Conference B (APAC B)

  1. Australia
  2. India
  3. Malaysia
  4. New Zealand
  5. Singapore
  6. Thailand

Three countries from each A Group and two countries from each B Group will be seeded into the Group Stage, making those 15 qualifying spots competitive.