Pokémon GO Downtime Planned for an Unprecedented Seven Hours June 1

Pokémon Go will undergo downtime for seven (7) hours on June 1 globally.
Pokémon Go will undergo downtime for seven (7) hours on June 1 globally. / Photo by Chaz Frazer / DBLTAP

Pokémon GO downtime planned by Niantic and Nintendo for an unheard of seven full hours on June 1. The move, which something of the sort has not happened since 2016, and the rework of the game’s gyms in 2017. According to developer Niantic, the outage will see the app’s servers go completely offline for planned “server maintenance” and will be “unavailable for all trainers."

Usually, server maintenance or title updates will take a game offline while the update is downloaded to the host machine. For all worldwide servers to be offline is a massive move that many speculate to be related to the game’s database being transferred to new servers. 

Pokémon Go Downtime Planned for Seven Hours

The planned downtime is currently scheduled for June 1, 2020 from 11:00 a.m. to 6 p.m. PDT. The servers will be going offline globally, meaning that while some of the world may be sleeping - like in Asia - the rest of the world that is swathed in daylight are out of luck that day. Depending on where you are, here are the local times when you can expect to not have any Pokéfun:

  • Pacific -  11:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. (June 1)

  • Eastern - 2:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m. (June 1)

  • London - 7:00 p.m. (June 1) to 2:00 a.m. (June 2)

  • Dubai -   10:00 a.m. (June 1) to 5:00 a.m. (June 2)

  • Japan -   3:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m. (June 2)

  • Sydney - 4:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. (June 2)

If planning to make an outing of Pokémon Go during June 1 (depending on where you are), you may want to rain check and reschedule, lest you face disappointment.