TFT Ranks in Order: Ranked, Double Up and Workshop Ranking System Explained

Riot Games

Teamfight Tactics Ranked is where players put their skills to the test to try and climb the ladder.

The Ranked system works very similarly to League of Legends, its Riot Games-developed MOBA counterpart, though there are unique differences between the two. Especially when taking into consideration the Hyper Roll game mode. Ranked is the most competitive playlist available in TFT, plus there's Double Up (Workshop) allowing competitive co-op gameplay and Hyper Roll for fast-paced, high-rolling games.

Here's everything you need to know about the Teamfight Tactics Ranked system including all ranks in the game, how promotion works and more.

Teamfight Tactics Ranks in Order

Here are the TFT ranks in order:

  • Iron
  • Bronze
  • Silver
  • Gold
  • Platinum
  • Diamond
  • Master
  • Grandmaster
  • Challenger

The ranks are identical to League of Legends, and there are individual divisions in each rank as well. Though, there are some differences in how the system operates in TFT. First off, players receive an indefinite demotion shield once passing through a rank tier. For example, if a player hits Diamond and loses a game at 0 LP, that player cannot demote into Emerald. There is also a demotion shield in LoL, but it expires after enough losses at 0 LP. More differences to follow below.

TFT Hyper Roll Ranks in Order

Here are the TFT Hyper Roll Ranks in Order:

  • Grey Tier - 0 - 1,400
  • Green Tier - 1,400 - 2,600
  • Blue Tier - 2,600 - 3,400
  • Purple Tier - 3,400 - 4,200
  • Hyper Tier - 4,200 +

Players looking for their Hyper Roll ranks have to enter a lobby. The rank itself is not displayed on a player's profile next to their other TFT and LoL ranks.

How Promotion/Demotion Works in Teamfight Tactics

Promotion/Demotion is another major difference between TFT and LoL. Just like its MOBA counterpart, players receive (or lose) MMR depending on where they finish in a lobby. First and eighth receive the largest wins and losses, middling out toward the rest of the places. Players who finish fourth are guaranteed at least 10 LP. There are also no promotional series in TFT between ranks, such wasn't the case in League of Legends until Ranked 2023 Split 2.

How Teamfight Tactics Ranked Decay Works

Unlike League of Legends, Ranked Decay only takes place after hitting Masters. Players also cannot decay out of Masters or Diamond. In Masters and above ranks, players bank up to 14 games, with one banked game getting removed each day. Per Riot Games, each day that passes without playing a game or having a banked game, the following LP decays occur:

  • Masters - 50 LP
  • Grandmasters - 150 LP
  • Challenger - 250 LP

When Do TFT Ranks Reset?

TFT ranks will reset each time a new Set begins. Previously, there was a soft reset in a mid-set update, though that is no longer the case after Set 9.5.