Top Games

When is the PlayStation Showcase?

SONY confirmed another PlayStation Showcase earlier today, Thursday, Sept. 2. Here's when to expect it.
SONY confirmed another PlayStation Showcase earlier today, Thursday, Sept. 2. Here's when to expect it. / SONY

Sony confirmed another PlayStation Showcase earlier today, Thursday, Sept. 2. Here's when to expect it.

PlayStation players—mark your calendars. A new showcase has been confirmed with a mysterious line-up that could have a major impact on your holiday season. SONY Interactive Entertainment (SIE) is getting ready to present the top projects it's been working on since the studio last came to town—virtually, anyway.

Here's what you need to know.

When is the PlayStation Showcase?

Players can tune in to the new PlayStation Showcase next Thursday, Sept. 9, at 1 p.m. PT (4 p.m ET) / 9 p.m. BST / 10 p.m. CEST. It will last around 40 minutes in total and will be broadcast via the official PlayStation channels on YouTube and Twitch.

According to Sid Shuman, Senior Director at SIE Content Communications, this presentation is meant to address the "future of PS5."

"You’ve been awfully patient," he wrote, "We’re looking forward to showing you what we’ve been working on."

Players can expect updates from PlayStation studios, itself, alongside several of the industry's "most imaginative developers" for a reveal of the platform's holiday releases "and beyond."

Shuman invites players to stay on after the show for more information about titles and information released during the show. However, he didn't state just how long those deep dives would take—nor did he reveal the line-up for the Showcase.

One thing that won't be making an appearance is PlayStation VR.

"But there will still be plenty of great PS5 games from developers large and small," Shuman wrote, "We hope you can join us!"

More information can be found on SONY's PlayStation news blog.