Apex Legends Ranked Explained

Image courtesy of Respawn Entertainment

Apex Legends' Ranked mode is the perfect outlet for players looking for a more even challenge. If you've yet to dive in, you might be wondering how it all works.

Put simply, Ranked in Apex Legends sets players up with opponents who are all similariy skilled. It's a great proving ground to really see what you're made of, and how you match up against the rest of the community. While Ranked matches don't really differ to normal ones outside of being a little tougher, there are still some rules and features that you'll need to learn.

First, let's look into the ranks.

What are the Ranks in Apex Legends?

There are a total of seven tiers: Bronze, Silver, Gold, Platinum, Diamond, Master, and Apex Predator.

The first five tiers each have four divisions. Division four is the lowest in each tier. Apex Predator is a little different, though, and is reserved for the top 750 players. The RP requirement to enter each tier is as follows:

  • Bronze: 0 RP
  • Silver: 1200 RP
  • Gold: 2800 RP
  • Platinum: 4800 RP
  • Diamond: 7200 RP
  • Master: 10,000 RP
  • Apex Predator: Top 750 players with over 10,000 RP

How does Ranked Work in Apex Legends?

As previously mentioned, players will find themselves matched up against opponents who are usually within the same rank. Ranked contains a number of ranks and tiers, from Bronze up to Apex Predator. like regular matches, you can queue up solo or as a party.

If you're playing in a party, any player above Platinum can't queue with players who are any more than one tier different. Therefore, a Platinum player can only queue with those in Diamond or Gold.

Each time you start a match, you'll lose a little RP based on your tier. Bronze tier won't lose any. The amount lost for each tier is:

  • Bronze: 0 RP
  • Silver: 12 RP
  • Gold: 24 RP
  • Platinum: 36 RP
  • Diamond: 48 RP
  • Master: 60 RP
  • Apex Predator: 60 RP

RP lost this way won't force players to drop a tier, thankfully, though you'll likey want to do your best to earn it back. There are a few ways to earn RP during a match. The first is to be one of the top 13 teams left standing. The closer you are to the top, the more RP you stand to earn. Match winners will earn 100 RP.

Kills and assists will also earn you RP. Players can kill or assist up to six times to earn RP, with the amount you earn being based on your team's standing at the end of the match.

It's worth noting that there are penalties for abandoning games. Not only do you forfeit any RP you've earned in a match, but if you leave when your teammates still have a chance to revive you, you'll find yourself locked out of later game queues. The timer starts from 10 minutes and will increase with each offence in a period of time.

At the end of each Ranked season, players will earn special rewards based on where they finish. These range from special badges, to other cosmetics that allow you to show off your rank.