Aphelios Goes Live in League of Legends Patch 9.24

Aphelios is live in League of Legends Patch 9.24
Aphelios is live in League of Legends Patch 9.24 / Photo courtesy of Riot Games

New League of Legends champion Aphelios will enter League of Legends Patch 9.24, which goes live Wednesday. The new champion will debut in the final patch of the year.

"Emerging from moonlight’s shadow with weapons drawn, Aphelios kills the enemies of his faith in brooding silence—speaking only through the certainty of his aim, and the firing of each gun," Riot Games wrote on the new champion's bio page. "Though fueled by a poison that renders him mute, he is guided by his sister Alune in her distant temple sanctuary from where she pushes an arsenal of moonstone weapons into his hands. For as long as the moon shines overhead, Aphelios will never be alone."

Aphelios Released in League of Legends Patch 9.24

Aphelios gameplay will be difficult to master for a bit at the start because he is a unique champion. Aphelios has five weapons, each with its own basic attack. He uses his main-hand weapon primarily, but players can use W to swap to his off-hand weapon.

The use of weapons is not customizable, though. Aphelios' weapons have 50 ammo each (called Moonlight), and when one empties, players get the next one in line. So players should order his weapons based on which ones they want to use first, then second, etc.

Apehlios Abilities

Aphelios has only three buttons: Q, W and R, and W swaps between his main and off-hand weapons. Each of his abilities has its own Q ability when eqipped as the main hand weapon, and each Q applies bonus attacks and effects. All the Qs cost manna and ammo, and they all have cooldowns.

Aphelios' ultimate is called Moonlight Vigil, and it sends forward a moon bomb that explodes on the first enemy hit. Nearby enemies are damaged in the explosion, and Aphelios follows that up with enhanced basic attacks from his main hand weapon against all enemies caught in the explosion.

Aphelios Weapons

Aphelios' five weapons are:

  • Calibrum, the rifle
  • Severum, the Scythe pistol
  • Gravitum, the Cannon
  • Infernum, the Flamethrower
  • Crescendum, the Chakram