League of Legends Champions Released in 2013

Photo courtesy of Riot Games

After the first four years of League of Legends' creation, Riot Games began to slow down on champion releases per year. There was at least 19 new champions added to the game yearly until 2013, as there were only eight additions during that year. Within these eight champions, there was a lot of diversity and almost all of them see numerous play at all skill levels in 2023.

2013 was the first year that Faker began playing professionally, and it was the first year that SK Telecom T1 won the World Championship in Season 3. This year was very iconic for League of Legends and sparked the beginning of the best dynasty in professional League of Legends history.

League of Legends Champions Released in 2013

As League of Legends reached its fifth year of being released, Riot had already added over 100 playable characters to the game. Therefore, the diversity in playstyles and ability to main different champions existed by the time 2013 started. So, Riot opted to start taking a longer time to think about character concepts before releasing a bunch of the same type of champions. This has carried on to present day, which shows Riot releasing just a handful of characters yearly.

Here is the list of all eight champions released in 2013:

  1. Thresh
  2. Quinn
  3. Zac
  4. Lissandra
  5. Aatrox
  6. Lucian
  7. Jinx
  8. Yasuo