Modern Warfare 3 Map Voting Explained

Map voting is back in Modern Warfare 3.
Map voting is back in Modern Warfare 3. / Activision

Map voting is returning in Modern Warfare 3 to give fans a say in which maps they play in Sledgehammer Games' new title.

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 lacked many of the features necessary to make a fun, competitive Call of Duty. Without red dots, the Ninja Perk, or slide cancelling, the game was largely a disappointment among the Call of Duty community. Plus, the title did not include map voting, forcing players to spawn into wildly unpopular maps, like Santa Sena Border Crossing.

As more and more leaks expose all the mistakes Modern Warfare 3 seems to be correcting, like bringing back the classic mini map, slide and reload cancelling, and Zombies, rumors started to claim the new title will also feature map voting. First reported by el_bobberto on Twitter, Modern Warfare 3's map voting system appears to once again give power back to the players.

Here's everything we know about map voting in Modern Warfare 3.

Modern Warfare 3 Map Voting Explained

Modern Warfare 3 is set to bring back map voting, much to the community's delight. The feature allows fans to vote for which map they want to play instead of being thrown into a map without any say. Fans will likely get to once again choose between two maps or vote for a random map.

Ahead of the Shadow Siege Modern Warfare 3 Reveal Event in Warzone, the offical Call of Duty Twitter account posted, "Shadow Siege waiting room. First map you see, you have to vote to skip. Which did you miss out on?" The teaser all but confirms map voting's return in Modern Warfare 3, a feature the players have missed in the last few Call of Duty titles.

Modern Warfare 3 Maps at Launch

With map voting, fans will get to have their voice heard on which of the 16 Modern Warfare 3 maps they want to play. Here's a list of all the confirmed Modern Warfare 3 maps at launch:

  • Afghan
  • Derail
  • Estate
  • Favela
  • Highrise
  • Invasion
  • Karachi
  • Quarry
  • Rundown
  • Rust
  • Scrapyard
  • Skidrow
  • Sub Base
  • Terminal
  • Underpass
  • Wasteland

All the maps will be remastered from Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 (2009).