When Does Fortnite Ranked Start?

Fortnite Ranked is coming soon.
Fortnite Ranked is coming soon. / Epic Games

Epic Games has announced the roll out of Fortnite Ranked, but when does it start?

If you've gotten all you can out of regular Fortnite and are now looking for that extra challenge, then Fortnite Ranked might be your next step. Much like other battle royales and online multiplayers on the market, Fortnite's Ranked mode will see players progress through various ranks pitted against players of equal skill. Ranked will be available in typical Battle Royale modes and Zero Build.

According to a blog post by Epic Games, the ranks will span across eight different stages: Bronze, Silver, Gold, Platinum, Diamond, Elite, Champion, and Unreal. Bronze through Diamond will have three ranks, while Elite, Champion, and Unreal will have one. Players must first climb through Bronze to reach Silver, then through Silver to reach Gold, and so on.

Ranked will begin as Ranked Season Zero, which will last until the end of Battle Royale Chapter 4 Season 3.

A player's starting rank in Battle Royale or Zero Build will be based on past match performance, as well as performance in your first Ranked Battle Royale or Ranked Zero Build.

So, with all this information to take in, just when exactly will Fortnite Ranked start?

When Does Fortnite Ranked Start?

Fortnite Ranked will begin with the v24.40 update which is expected to arrive on Wednesday, May 17, 2023. Ranked will start off with the following Battle Royale and Zero Build modes supported:

Battle Royale

  • Solo
  • Duos
  • Squads

Zero Build

  • Duos

Players will have separate ranks for both Battle Royale and Zero Build.

Ranked matchmaking works a bit different if you're playing in Duos or Squads. Your team will have a “party rank" which will be equivalent to the rank of the highest-ranked teammate. Your team will be matched against teams with the same or similar party rank. Players will also maintain an individual rank.

Ranked can be undertaken by both new and old Fortnite players. Though new players will need to have completed the specific Quest "Outlast 500 Opponents" before Ranked is available to be enabled.