Pokémon Scarlet and Violet Gym Order Explained

"There are eight Pokémon Gyms in different locations throughout Paldea, all managed by the Pokémon League."
"There are eight Pokémon Gyms in different locations throughout Paldea, all managed by the Pokémon League." / The Pokémon Company

In Pokémon Scarlet and Violet, trainers will find out early on that the Gym order isn't exactly as static as it's been in previous series titles.

Scarlet and Violet not only invite trainers to embark on a new journey in the Paldea Region, but they also include three main storylines that can be completed in any order and award Badges as they are progressed: Victory Road, ★ Starfall Street ★ and Path of Legends. In particular, Victory Road is the questline that has to do with besting the eight Pokémon Gyms and the Pokémon League to become the Champion.

Here's a breakdown of everything you need to know about the Pokémon Gyms, and the best order to complete them, in Pokémon Scarlet and Violet.

Pokémon Scarlet and Violet Gym Order Guide

As mentioned earlier, there are still eight different Pokémon Gyms that each specialized in a specific Pokémon Type. However, although they still range from easy to hard in terms of completing them, Scarlet and Violet are setup that trainers can still take on any Gym they want even though there is no level scaling. As such, unless you want to be challenging Gym leader that are perhaps best saved for later, there is an optimal order to take them on.

Here is the best Gym order to follow in Pokémon Scarlet and Violet:

1. Cortondo Gym (Bug-type)

2. Artazon Gym (Grass-type)

  • Petilil (Lv. 16): Grass-type
  • Smoliv (Lv. 16): Grass/Normal-type
  • Sudowoodo (Lv. 17): Rock-type, Grass Terastallize

3. Levincia Gym (Electric-type)

  • Wattrel (Lv. 23): Electric/Flying-type
  • Bellibolt (Lv. 23): Electric-type
  • Luxio (Lv. 23): Electric-type
  • Mismagius (Lv. 24): Ghost-type, Electric Terastallize

4. Cascarrafa Gym (Water-type)

  • Veluza (Lv. 29): Water/Psychic-type
  • Wugtrio (Lv. 29): Water-type
  • Crabominable (Lv. 30): Fighting/Ice-type, Water Terastallize

5. Medali Gym (Normal-type)

  • Komala (Lv. 35): Normal-type
  • Dudunsparce (Lv. 35): Normal-type
  • Staraptor (Lv. 36): Flying/Normal-type, Normal Terastallize

6. Montenevera Gym (Ghost-type)

  • Mimikuy (Lv. 41): Ghost/Fairy-type
  • Banette (Lv. 41): Ghost-type
  • Houndstone (Lv. 41): Ghost-type
  • Toxtricity (Lv. 42): Electric/Poison-type, Ghost Terastallize

7. Alfornada Gym (Psychic-type)

  • Farigiraf (Lv. 44): Normal/Psychic-type
  • Espathra (Lv. 44): Psychic-type
  • Gardevoir (Lv. 44): Psychic/Fairy-type
  • Florges (Lv. 45): Fairy-type, Psychic Terastallize

8. Glaseado Gym (Ice-type)

  • Frosmoth (Lv. 47): Ice/Grass-type
  • Beartic (Lv. 47): Ice-type
  • Cetitan (Lv. 47): Ice-type
  • Altaria (Lv. 48): Dragon/Flying-type, Ice Terastallize

Be sure to keep in mind that at each of the eight Gyms, you will have to first pass a Gym Test before you’ll be allowed to challenge the Gym Leader. Additionally, due to the non-linear nature of the story, you will run into Nemona plenty of times, as well as probably want to complete some other tasks in between each Gym encounter.

Upon defeating any of the Gym Leaders, you will earn the customary Gym Badge and TM, as well as more classes at the Academy and more craftable TMs.

After conquering all eight of the Gyms spread across the region, you will then be able to take on the Champion Assessment, which includes tackling the Elite Four and Paldea’s Top Champion.

Pokémon Scarlet and Violet are available now on Nintendo Switch.

For more on Pokémon Scarlet and Violet, feel free to check out: